Two Civilians Receive Life Saving Award At Annual Fire Department Award Ceremony

Pictured on left is Bob Maynard and far right Scott Klahn with Stacy and Kimberly Jones.

By Kelly Hoffmann

NEW HAVEN, Mo. - The New Haven/Berger Fire Department held its annual award ceremony, Saturday, Dec. 6 at the American Legion in New Haven where two individuals received the Life Saving Award.

Early this year on Feb. 18 fire crews responded to a home on Sunset Lane for a report of smoke in a residence.  When fire crews arrived on the scene large blooms of smoke was barreling from the home and thanks to two civilians, three lives were saved.

Pictured right was taken by Kyle Quick of the house fire on Feb. 18.

This year, awards were not just given to firefighters. Two civilians were also honored for their heroic efforts when their house caught fire earlier this year.

Scott Klahn and Bob Maynard, who are not members of the fire department, received  the Life Saving Award for pulling Stacey, Kimberly and Drake Jones from the burning home.

Firefighters with the New Haven/Berger Fire Department also received awards for their courageous efforts.

The CPR Save award was awarded to Justin Overkamp and Kent Strobel, as well as, Lloyd Ruediger and Wayne Carl.

They received the award after responding for and EMS assist where they immediately began performing CPR and because of their actions the patient began breathing before being transported by EMS to the hospital.

Other firefighters receiving awards:

Carl also received the Officer of the Year award. 

Blake Redecker (Pictured right) was awarded the Fireball of the Year award, which is giving to an outstanding firefighter who has been with the department for five years or less.

Tracy Grote received the Firefighter of the year award, which is giving to an outstanding firefighter who has been with the department for more than five years.

David Greunke, Dennis Liesmann, Kyle Maune and A.J. Purdy all received the five years of service recognition.

James Pruessner was recognized for 10 years of service.

James Coon, David Hahne, Dennis Oberg and Mike Steinbeck were recognized for 25 years of service.

Pictured right Tracy Grote receives award.

Carl was also recognized for his 35 years of service.

Ruediger was recognized for 50 years of service and unwilling dedication to protecting the lives of his community.

The event was catered by Spaunhorst Catering Service.

Pictured below Lloyd Ruediger recognized for his 50 years of service as a volunteer fighter.